beauty · DIY · home-made · makeup · oils

DIY Highlighter drops

 

IMG_20170412_214030

Hello my Green beauties, hope you are well! back on the blog for sharing my latest DIY that has become one of my favourites make-up products of the season: highlighter drops, totally homemade and organic!!

I’m using this liquid highlighter for about a week and I’m loving it! It gives the most beautiful dewy-fresh skin with just a subtle soft natural glow (see picture below). Plus highlighter drops are super moisturizing and much more natural than powder highlighter that dries out my cheeks.IMG_20170413_212031-01

I took this recipe from the beautiful French naturalista Alice Esmeralda (if you speak a little french click here for her video) who is such an inspiration for green lifestyle!

The recipe is super simple in requires just two ingredients: vegetable oil and your favourite pigment/mica or eyeshadow that provides the glowy effect.

Measurements are totally up to you according to the desired intensity of the glow.

I went for a mix of Caprylic Capric Triglycerides and Jojoba (10 ml of each oil) for lightweight consistency and then I added some tbs of light beige mica and scraped off with a spatula most of my duo chrome eyeshadow (100% organic, of corse).

I mixed all the elements in a bowl and then, with the help of a syringe, I’ve transferred my mixture in a  glass bottle with a dropper pipette.

The result is the most amazing highlighter ever!

J.

6 thoughts on “DIY Highlighter drops

  1. Do you have any suggestions on how to make an oil-free version? My skin is naturally oily, so I try to avoid adding extra oil on top of it. This is such a cool idea though!

    Like

  2. Hi Haley, thanks for your comment, unfortunately in this DIY it’s not advisable to use water instead of oils because it will compromise the consistency and the preservation of the product. I suggest you use dry oils (like coco caprylate or dycaprylyl ether) or non comedogenic oils like jojoba or black cumin/nigella oil which are very useful to balance oily skin.

    Like

Leave a comment